Creative Commons

Really tired after 14 hours of class this weekend, so this will be short.

I just wanted to say how much I love the idea of the Creative Commons. In case people are unfamiliar, Creative Commons allows a person to license their work in a way that allows other people to use it, but only in the way you want them to.

For example, Michael Stephens (tech librarian extraordinare!) just did several presentations in Australia. He has his presentation available on his blog under a Creative Commons license. Other librarians or library school teachers can use his ideas or even his slides as long as they attribute what they borrowed from Michael.

I have been introduced to the Creative Commons in several of my LIS classes, and I really think that the folks at CC and the folks that are using those licenses are really moving in the right direction as far as rethinking ownership and copyright in a digital world.

And for the funsters in the crowd: a few links.

1. Facebook people can add Creative Commons as a cause on their profile. (I did!)

2. One of my favorite CC Creator is Jonathan Coulton, a brilliant songwriter who allows his work to be used in multimedia applications like videos. Some of my favorites include Re:Your Brains (which I mentioned in a previous post about zombies) and Code Monkey which kept running through my head this weekend as I hunted for unclosed td tags. Thanks to Roisin for the tip!

~Renee

Creative Commons License

2 Comments

  1. jessica said,

    March 31, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Code Monkey rocks, thanks!

  2. jgmccarn said,

    April 9, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I read the article below the other day and remembered your post about Creative Commons. I am also a creative commons fan and am sad to find that I have something in common with Charlie Manson, psycho extraordinaire. http://blog.wired.com/music/2008/04/charles-manson.html


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

