Post #1 – Library Thing and Reader’s Advisory

Wow…

Ever since I got home from class, my head has been spinning.

I was settling down with Catcher in the Rye (for school, not for pleasure, believe me!!) when I started thinking about Library 2.0 and reader’s advisory.

I’m not sure of all the specifics yet, because I don’t know the limitations on these particular sites, but for instance:

Let’s say a library staff opened a Library Thing account, or several Library Thing accounts that were all connected in some way. I know you can use tagging in LT, so each book gets tagged for stuff like age group or genre, even AR level, or whatever. Then when we need to do reader’s advisory, we pull up LT and have access to everyone’s recommendations. More savvy patrons can do their own browsing by accessing our LT “library” from our website.

Better yet, why not do this in the catalog? If a librarian had read and wanted to recommend a book, they could add a tag with their name. Then you could search by tags to find books that were recommended.

Turns out, (I did a bit more searching) Library Thing has started offering these sorts of features for libraries. Library Thing for Libraries offers widgets that can be added to an existing catalog to help users find similar titles and add or search by tags. East Brunswick Public Library  is using these widgets and has a good page describing them for their library users. Looking over the buzz page, it seems like lots of people like this idea. My favorite quote calls Library Thing “”the love child of Melvyl Dewey and Web 2.0.”

I may have to do some more investigating before our Library 2.0 paper is due.

At my library, we just started a Roladex for readers advisory. ::yawn::

I’ve used a database for years, but the idea of a living, shared document that wouldn’t necessarily take any more time or expertise than what already exists… ::sigh::

~Renee

3 Comments

  1. Carrie Straka said,

    January 23, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Hi Renee,
    This idea is brilliant!! I love LibraryThing, but I never thought about using it in that context before. What a good idea!!!

    Carrie

  2. huntlaur said,

    January 24, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    So a roladex, huh? Welcome to 1985. 🙂 I love the LibraryThing idea. I use it for myself to do recommendations, but it would be so much better within the catalog.
    -Laura

  3. Teresa said,

    January 27, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Hi Renee,

    I actually have a question and a comment. I also think this is a great idea (Library Thing). I will look into the links soon. That would be a great way to connect to readers all over.

    Next, I need help. I made an avatar on Yahoo. How do I save it to a file that I can transfer? How do I get it onto my blog? Thanks for your time.

    Thanks, Teresa


Leave a Reply

