I was on Kathy and Judy

Kathy and Judy from WGN Radio were talking this morning about Gaming in libraries. Originally, they were saying that games are too noisy for libraries and that programs like DDR and Guitar Hero should be held at the park district.

Well, I couldn’t let that sort of nonsense go unchecked! I called in and using a lot of the excellent information i I gained from Jenny Levine’s presentation on gaming at Dominican, I explained that, yes, kids could game at the park district. They could game at home. But if they game at the library, they are gaming around books. I also talked a bit about the fact that you build relationships with kids who come to gaming programs and build trust so that when you recommend a book to that person, they will trust your recommendation more.

Later they spoke with a library director and a parent of a gaming teen and by the end of the conversation we had them convinced! They complemented the librarian’s who called on their ability to present the argument in such a clear way.

So I spoke to 38 states about the need for gaming in libraries! YIKES!

If that segment gets added to the weekly podcast, I’ll put a link up, but I just had to crow a bit about my experience.

3 Comments

  1. Jenny Levine said,

    August 20, 2008 at 12:27 am

    Sorry I just now saw your post, but I want to thank you for being proactive and calling in to contribute to the K&J show! I didn’t even know they had discussed this topic, so I really appreciate your efforts. You rock! 🙂

  2. Laura said,

    September 17, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Woohoo!

  3. KJ said,

    October 20, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I get gaming in public libraries – but I’m still weary about its pedagogical presence in academic libraries. I think academia throws out “pedagogy” when it wants to cover up for something that could been seen as un-academic.

    If they just said it was a great social resource, I’d be game.. uh, bad pun.

    ~Kyle~


Leave a Reply

